Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Print Books

Have a Question?

Guides & Sample Papers

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help.

Click here for a full-length self-paced online tutorial from the APA's website.

Publication Manual

Copies of the Publication Manual are found in the reference and check out collections of the Philadelphia Campus Library and the Newtown LRC.

Choose a Research Guide

Book sources: General guidelines

The following information identifies where the book can be found. The exact components included in your citation may vary depending on what you are citing.

  • Author or editor of book
  • Date of publication
  • Chapter title
  • Page numbers of chapter
  • Title of book
  • Edition
  • Volume number (if book is from a multi-volume set)
  • City and state of publication
  • Publisher

NOTE: Please see the E-book guide for more information about citing Credo Reference, E-books from research databases, E-books from the web, and books with DOI numbers.

Special Formatting for Books

Below are special considerations for formatting book references.

  • Include authors' last names and both initials. Do not write out authors' first names.
  • List all authors in the same order listed on the title page (up to seven authors.) See example of a book with eight or more authors.
  • Do not put chapter title in quotes.
  • For an edited book, list the editors' names first. Note (Ed.) or (Eds.) in parentheses after the last editor's name.
  • If there is no publication date, use (n.d.) after author or editor's name(s).
  • If you only used one chapter of the book, only reference that chapter. (See examples)
  • Use the first place of publication listed or the publisher's "home office" if noted.
  • Include the city and the state's initials for the publisher's location.
  • For books with DOI numbers or E-books retrieved online, see the E-book guide.

Book with One Author

  • List the publisher in the briefest form possible.
  • Do not include words like Publishers, Co., Inc., Books, or Press.

Small, H. (1999). Florence Nightingale: Avenging angel. New York, NY: St. Martin’s Press.

Book with Two Authors

West, J. A., & West, M. L. (2009). Using wikis for online collaboration: The power of the read-write web. San Francisco, CA:

     Jossey-Bass.

Book with 3-7 Authors

  • List all authors in the same order listed on the title page (up to and including seven authors.)
  • Include authors' last names and initials. (Last name, Initials). Do not write out authors' first names.
  • Separate authors with commas. Separate last author in the list with an "&".

Hanson, K., Guilfoy, V., & Pillai, S. (2009). More than Title IX: How equity in education has shaped the nation. Lanham, MD:

     Rowman & Littlefield.

Book with 8 or More Authors

  • List the first six authors followed by three ellipsis points/periods (. . .), and then the last author.
  • Include authors' last names and initials. (Last name, Initials). Do not write out authors' first names.
  • Separate authors with commas. Do NOT separate last author in the list with an "&".

Avellino, D., McNamara, L., Ruppel, K., Brown, S., Runowski, C., Wallace, M., . . . Schwabenbauer, L. (2011). Citing sources:

     Your guide to navigating APA. Anytown, PA: Reference University.

Book with No Author

  • If no author is listed, start the entry with the first significant word of the title.

Greater Delaware Valley buying guide. (2001). New York, NY: Thomas Regional Directory.

Book with Editor(s)

  • List the editors' names first.
  • Note (Ed.) or (Eds.) in parentheses after the last editor's name.

Suzuki, L. A., & Ponterotto, J. G. (Eds.). (2008). Handbook of multicultural assessment: Clinical, psychological, and educational

     applications (3rd ed.). San Francisco, CA: Wiley.

Book with Organization as Author

  • If an organization is the author, list the organization as the author.
  • If the publisher is the author, list the publisher as the author. After the place of publication, use the word "Author." Do not write the publisher's name twice.

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.).

     Washington, DC: Author.

Book Chapter (All Chapters written by same Author)

Book chapter

  • Begin with author of chapter (last name, initials), date of publication, and title of chapter.
  • Include the word "In" followed the book title in italics and page numbers of chapter.

Rhodes-Pitts, S. (2011). Searching for the underground city. In Harlem is nowhere: A journey to the mecca of black America

     (pp. 49-84). New York, NY: Little, Brown.

Book Chapter (Chapters written by Different Authors and Compiled by Editor)

Book chapter in an edited book

  • Begin with author of chapter (last name, initials), date of publication, and title of chapter.
  • Include the word "In" followed by the editors' names, book title in italics, and page numbers of chapter.
  • Unlike authors, do not invert the editors' last names and initals. Note (Ed.) or (Eds.) in parentheses after the last editor's name.

Green, J. (2000). Treating women who smoke: The benefits of using hypnosis. In L. M. Hornyak & J. P. Green (Eds.), Healing from

     within (pp. 91-117). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Entry in a Reference Book

Entries in reference books are treated the same as book chapters.

  • Begin with author of reference entry (last name, initials), date of publication, and title of reference entry.
  • Include the word "In" followed by the editors' names, reference book title in italics, page numbers of entry.
  • Unlike authors, do not invert the editors' last names and initals. Note (Ed.) or (Eds.) in parentheses after the last editor's name.

Cook, K. T. (2000). Child find. In C. R. Reynolds & E. Fletcher-Janzen (Eds.), Encyclopedia of special education (3rd ed., Vol. 1,

     p. 424). New York, NY: Wiley.

  • If reference entry has no listed author, begin citation with the title of the entry.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

To cite a test review from the Mental Measurements Yearbook, be sure to locate the reviewer's name (generally at the start of the review).

  • Sometimes there are several reviews for an assessment; if you use all the reviews, you must cite each one separately.
  • Be sure to list the reviewer's name first. This is the name you will use in your in-text citation as well.
  • The Buros Institute, not APA, suggests using brackets around the review title; if in doubt check with your faculty.
  • Note that from the 9th through the 18 MMYB, the publisher was Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Starting with the 19th MMYB, the publisher is listed as Buros Center for Testing.

Buros recommends the following reference format at: http://buros.org/pdfs/How-to-Cite-Buros-publications.pdf

Reviewer's Last Name, Initials. (Copyright year of Yearbook)[Test review of <insert Test Title Here.]. In Initials, Editor's Last

     Name, Initials, Editor's Last Name, & Initials, Editor's Last Name (Eds.), The <spell out number> mental measurements

     yearbook (pp. page numbers of review). Lincoln, NE: Name of Publisher.

For example:

Pfeiffer, S. I. (2010). [Test review of the Profile of Creative Abilities]. In R. A. Spies, J. F. Carlson, & K. F. Geisinger (Eds.),

    The eighteenth mental measurements yearbook (pp. 445-448). Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.

 

Chapter from an English Translation that is Reprinted from Another Source

  • Begin with author of chapter (last name, initials), date of publication, title of chapter, and name of translator.
  • Name of translator appears in parentheses. (Note the abbreviation "Trans." after the translator's name.)
  • Include the word "In" followed by the editors' names, book title in italics, page numbers of chapter, and publication information.
  • Note (Ed.) or (Eds.) in parentheses after the last editor's name. Unlike authors, do not invert last names and initials of editors or translators.

Note: Names of theories are not capitalized. Therefore, "individual psychology" appears in lower case letters.

Adler, A. (2005). Structure and methods of individual psychology (G. Liebenau, Trans.). In H. Stein (Ed.), The collected clinical

     works of Alfred Adler: Vol. 7. Journal articles: 1931-1937 (pp. 72-74). Bellingham, WA: The Classical Adlerian

    Translation Project.

In the in-text citation, list the original author's name, the original publishing date, and the current copyright date of the book.

The in-text citation for this reference would read (Adler, 1932/2005).

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315