Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Print Books

Have a Question?

Guides

 The Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide  by the Chicago Manual of Style Online provides some brief information and examples of this form of citation. 

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help in Chicago Style. 

You can also find information about Chicago Style at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. 

Style Guides

Copies of The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) and A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers (8th edition) are found in the reference and check out collections of the Library, as well as the reference section of the Newtown LRC.

Before You Start

Please read the information about Crediting Sources Using Notes and Chicago Style: Bibliography before using these examples. 

 

General Information for Referencing Books

You must include:

  • The full name of authors or editors as they are displayed on the title page of the book or in the book chapter. 
  • Chapter title, if applicable, in "double quotes."
  • The full title of the book in italics and capitalize all significant words.
  • The editor or translator, if there is one.
  • The edition number if the book is not the first edition.
  • A volume number if applicable.
  • The city of publication and state of publication. If the city of publication is well known, it is not necessary to include the two letter state abbreviation. If the place of publication is not available, use n.p. or N.p. (no place). 
  • The publisher's name, but you can omit the initial "the," as well as inc., ltd., co., and publishing co. Retain the words "books" and usually "press" in the publisher's name. 
  • Specific page numbers for works cited in notes.

One Author

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Bernard Delfgaauw, The Student History of Philosophy (Albany: Magi Books, 1968), 1-10.

Bibliography:

Delfgaauw, Bernard. The Student History of Philosophy. Albany: Magi Books, 1968.

Two Authors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Laura Nash and Scotty McLennan, Church on Sunday, Work on Monday: The Challenges of Fusing Christian Values with Business Life (San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2001), 35.

Bibliography:

Nash, Laura, and Scotty McLennan. Church on Sunday, Work on Monday: The Challenge of Fusing Christian Values

     with Business Life. San Francisco, Jossey-Bass, 2001.

 

Edited Book

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing 

    1. Deirdre A. Gaquin and Sarah E. Baltic, eds., The Almanac of American Education, 2011 (Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 2011), 483.

Bibliography:

Gaquin, Deirdre A., and Sarah E. Baltic, eds. The Almanac of American Education, 2011. Lanham, MD:

     Bernan Press, 2011.

Don't capitalize eds. which is the abbreviation for "editors."

Three Authors or Editors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Art Silverblatt, Jane Ferry, and Barbara Finan, Approaches to Media Literacy: A Handbook (Armonk, NY: M. E. Sharp, 1999), 35-40.

If the names listed represent editors, add eds. after the last name as in the example above "edited book."

Bibliography:

Silverblatt, Art, Jane Ferry, and Barbara Finan. Approaches to Media Literacy: A Handbook. Aramonk, NY: M. E. Sharp, 1999.

If the names listed represent editors, add eds. after the last name as in the example above "edited book."

More Than Three Authors or Editors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Natasha Zaretsky et al., eds., Major Problems in American History Since 1945, 3rd ed. (Independence, KY: Cengage Learning, 2007), 114.

In the note, only include the first author's or editors name followed by et al.. If the names represent authors, not editors, do not include "eds.".


Bibliography:

Zaretsky, Natasha, Mark Lawrence, Robert Griffith, and Paula Baker, eds. Major Problems in American History Since 1945.

     3rd ed. Independence, KY: Cengage Learning, 2007.

In the bibliography, list ALL author's or editors full names.  If the names represent authors, not editors, do not include "eds.".

Book Without an Author

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing 

    1. Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary, 3rd ed. (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1998), 563.

Bibliography:

Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary. 3rd. ed. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1998.

Corporate or Group Author

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Euromonitor International, World Economic Factbook, 2009 (London: Euromonitor, 2009), 341.

Bibliography:

Euromonitor International. World Economic Factbook, 2009. London: Euromonitor, 2009.

Author Plus Editor

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

    1. Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights: An Authoritative Text, Backgrounds, Criticism, 3rd ed., ed. William M. Sale, Jr. and Richard J. Dunn (New York: Norton, 1990), 190-300.

Bibliography:

Bronte, Emily. Wuthering Heights: An Authoritative Text, Backgrounds, Criticism. 3rd ed. Edited by William M. Sale, Jr.

     and Richard J. Dunn. New York: Norton, 1999.

Chapter in a Single Author Book

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing 

     1. Robert R. Provine, "The Road Not Taken: Philosophical and Theoretical Approaches to Laughter," in Laughter: A Scientific Investigation (New York: Viking, 2000), 14-16.

Bibliography:

Provine, Robert R. "The Road Not Taken: Philosophical and Theoretical Approaches to Laughter." In Laughter: A Scientific

     Investigation, 11-21. New York: Viking, 2000.

In the example above, the numbers (11-21) denote the page range of the entire chapter cited. 

Chapter Written by an Author in a Book Edited by Another

NoteRemember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing 

     1. D. Wahlsten, “Single-Gene Influences on Brain and Behavior,” in Behavior of the Human Person, ed. Janet T. Brown (New York:  McGraw-Hill, 1998), 581.

Bibliography:

Wahlsten, D. “Single-Gene Influences on Brain and Behavior.” In Behavior of the Human Person, edited by Janet T. Brown, 569-599.

     New York:  McGraw-Hill, 1998.

In these examples, D. Wahlsten wrote the chapter about single gene influences. This chapter appeared on pages 569-599 in the book entitled Behavior of the Human Person that Janet T. Brown edited. The note cites the page number of the information referenced, while the bibliography includes the page numbers of the entire chapter.

Translated Book

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing 

     1. Albert Camus, The Stranger, trans. Stuart Gilbert (New York: Knopf, 1949), 53-64.

Bibliography:

Camus, Albert. The Stranger. Translated by Stuart Gilbert. New York: Knopf, 1949.

Reference Book Entry - no author

Note: 

    1. Encyclopedia Americana, 14th ed., s.v. "Kant, Immanuel."

S.V. stands for "under the word" and is used instead of a page number when the reference book is organized alphabetically.

Bibliography:

Well known reference books are not generally listed in a bibliography, but check your faculty member's preference. 

Reference Book Entry - articles authored individually

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

    1. J. R. Rosenberg, "Individuation," in New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. (Detroit: Gale, 2003), 426.

Bibliography:

Rosenberg, J. R. "Individuation." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003.

Chicago style indicates that for some reference works, especially those with individually authored entries, may be appropriately cited.

Titled Volume in a Multivolume Work

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Donald White, Era of Industrial Imperialism, 1889-1914, vol. 8, World Epochs (New York: Macmillian, 1999), 248-259. 

Bibliography:

White, Donald. Era of Industrial Imperialism, 1889-1914. Vol. 8 of World Epochs. New York: Macmillan, 1999.

Untitled Volume in a Multivolume Work

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Daniel J. Keyser and Richard C. Sweetland, eds., Test Critiques (Kansas City, MO: Westport Publishers), 2008, 6: 70-86.

Bibliography:

Keyser, Daniel, and Richard C. Sweetland, eds. Test Critiques. Vol. 6. Kansas City, MO: Westport Publishers, 2008.

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315