Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Print Articles

Have a Question?

Guides

 The Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide  by the Chicago Manual of Style Online provides some brief information and examples of this form of citation. 

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help in Chicago Style. 

You can also find information about Chicago Style at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. 

Style Guides

Copies of The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) and A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers (8th edition) are found in the reference and check out collections of the Library, as well as the reference section of the Newtown LRC.

Before You Start

Please read the information about Crediting Sources Using Notes and Chicago Style: Bibliography before using these examples. 

 

General Rules for Citing Print Periodicals

These rules apply whether you are citing articles from an in-print journal. When citing an article from a database, General Rules for Citing Articles from Databases or Online Journals.

  • List author's names in the order they appear in the article. DO NOT re- alphabetize the names.
  • Article titles are listed in "double quotes" and all significant words are capitalized.
  • Journal titles are listed in italics and all significant words are capitalized. You can omit the initial "the" in the title.
  • Include the volume number after the title; do not italicize or precede it with punctuation.
  • Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty.
  • If you include an issue number, list it following the comma after the volume number and preceded by "no." (for number). See examples.
  • You can include the month and date of in a journal citation, although, according to Chicago style, is not necessary to include the issue number.
  • When citing an article in the notes, only include the page numbers for the exact material you are referencing. In the bibliography, include the page number range for the entire article.

A note about DOI numbers: it is generally only necessary to include the DOI when referencing an electronic copy of an article that you DID NOT retrieve in print or from one of Holy Family Library's databases. 

One Author - paginated by volume

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

    1. Stephen Rasmussen, "The Ethical Implications of Adult-Stem Cell Research," Theological Quarterly 45 (2001): 145.

Bibliography:

Rasmussen, Stephen. "The Ethical Implications of Adult-Stem Cell Research." Theological Quarterly 45 (2001): 145-149.

Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty. The above examples only provide the volume number (45) and year (2001).

Two Authors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

    1. Li Ying and Billie Lindsey, "An Association Between College Students' Health Promotion Practices and Perceived Stress," College Student Journal 47, no. 3 (2013): 439-440.

Bibliography:

Ying, Li, and Billie Lindsey. " An Association Between College Students' Health Promotion Practices and Perceived Stress."

     College Student Journal 47, no. 3 (2013): 437-446.

Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty. 

Three Authors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Eric Coccia Hammel, Sally Shaw, and Tammy Smith Taylor, "Toward a New Mindfulness: Explorations of Home and Community Literacies," Language Arts 90, no. 6 (2013): 431.

Bibliography:

Hammel, Eric Coccia, Sally Shaw, and Tammy Smith  Taylor.  "Toward a New Mindfulness: Explorations of Home and Community

     Literacies." Language Arts 90, no. 6 (2013): 428-440.

Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty. 

Four to Ten Authors

Note: Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing

     1. Charna D'Ardenne et al., "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade 3-5 Readers," Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 144.

Instead of listing the additional authors, use et al. which means "and others."

Bibliography:

D'Ardenne, Charna, Degra G. Barnes, Elaine S. Hightower, Pamela R. Lamason, Mary Mason, Paula C. Patterson, Nancy Stephens, 

     Carolyn E. Wilson, Vickie H. Smith, and Karen A. Erickson. "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade

     3-5 Readers." Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 143-151.

Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty. 

List all authors names in the bibliography.

Magazine Article

Note:

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

                  Example: According to Catherine Mayer's article in Newsweek on November 4, 2013, Prince Charles...1

When citing an article in a note, remember: 

  • Magazines are generally cited by date only and it is not necessary to include the volume and issue number. 
  • The page number in a note is preceded by a comma, not a colon.

    1. Catherine Mayer, "Heart of a King," Time, November 4, 2013, 28.

Bibliography:

  • Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 
  • If you do include the citation in the bibliography, it is not necessary to include the inclusive page numbers for the entire article, but you may wish to check with your faculty.

Mayer, Catherine. "Heart of a King." Time, November 4, 2013.

Newspaper Article - Author Noted

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

                  Example: According to William Safire's article in the Philadelphia Inquirer on November 11, 2012,...

Note:

Special considerations for citing newspapers:

  • Omit the initial "The" in the title. For instance, The Philadelphia Inquirer becomes Philadelphia Inquirer.
  • Page numbers may be omitted as there are often several editions of the same newspaper, and items may be omitted or relocated in various editions.   
  • If you know which edition of the newspaper you are citing, place it after a comma after the date. 

     1. William Safire, “The Politics of Pennsylvania,” Philadelphia Inquirer, November 11, 2012, Suburban edition.

Bibliography:

Safire, William. “The Politics of Pennsylvania.” Philadelphia Inquirer, November 11, 2012. Suburban edition.

Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 

Newspaper Article - No Author

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

                  Example: According to a Philadelphia Inquirer article on October 11, 2013,...

Special considerations for newspapers:

  • Omit the initial "The" in the title. For instance, The Philadelphia Inquirer becomes Philadelphia Inquirer.
  • Page numbers may be omitted as there are often several editions of the same newspaper, and items may be omitted or relocated in various editions.   
  • If you know which edition of the newspaper you are citing, place it after a comma after the date. 

Note:

     1. "President Fires Her Cabinet," Philadelphia Inquirer, October 11, 2013. 

Since there is no author for this article, the title moves to the first position in the note.

Bibliography:

Philadelphia Inquirer. "President Fires Her Cabinet." October 11, 2013. 

Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315