Skip to main content

Citing Sources

Guides

 The Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide  by the Chicago Manual of Style Online provides some brief information and examples of this form of citation. 

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help in Chicago Style. 

You can also find information about Chicago Style at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. 

Style Guides

Copies of The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) and A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers (8th edition) are found in the reference and check out collections of the Library, as well as the reference section of the Newtown LRC.

Before You Start

Please read the information about Crediting Sources Using Notes and Chicago Style: Bibliography before using these examples. 

 

General Rules for Citing Articles from Databases or Online Journals

These rules apply whether you are citing articles from a library research database or from a web site.

  • List author's names in the order they appear in the article. DO NOT re- alphabetize the names.
  • Article titles are listed in "double quotes" and all significant words are capitalized.
  • Journal titles are listed in italics and all significant words are capitalized. You can omit the initial "the" in the title.
  • Include the volume number after the title; do not italicize or precede it with punctuation.
  • Chicago style indicates that the issue number can be omitted if the entire volume of a journal title is continuously paginated or when the year includes a month or season. Chicago style does indicate that you MAY include the issue number for clarity. You may wish to check this point with your faculty.
  • If you include an issue number, list it following the comma after the volume number and preceded by "no." (for number). See examples.
  • You can include the month and date of in a journal citation, although, according to Chicago style, is not necessary if you include the issue number.
  • When citing an article in the notes, only include the page numbers for the exact material you are referencing. In the bibliography, include the page number range for the entire article. 

Special Rules for Citing Articles from Holy Family's Research Databases:

  • URL or DOI - it is generally only necessary to include the DOI when referencing an electronic copy of an article that you DID NOT retrieve from one of Holy Family Library's databases. For more about DOI numbers, see DOI Numbers from the pull down menu on the left.
  • It is not necessary to include the access date when citing databases.
  • At the end of the citation, include the correct database name, for example: Academic Search Premier. Please note that EBSCOHOST is not a database name.
  • End the reference with the accession number in parenthesis. The accession number can be located on the "landing page" - the database page that includes the full citation of the item you wish to reference.
  • Take note of whether or not you are referencing a .pdf or html version of the article. IF referencing a .pdf, the original page numbers are available and this makes citation easy.

 

 

Article from a Holy Family Database: One Author

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

    1. Paula F. Pfeffer, "Eleanor Roosevelt and the National and World Woman's Parties," Historian 59, no. 1 (1996): 39-40, Humanities Full Text (509625684).

Bibliography: List the page range for the entire article

Pfeffer, Paula F. "Eleanor Roosevelt and the National and World Woman's Parties." Historian 59, no. 1 (1996): 39-57.

     Humanities Full Text (509625684).

Be sure to include the page number range for the entire article.

Article from a Holy Family Database: Two Authors

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

    1. Li Ying and Billie Lindsey, "An Association Between College Students' Health Promotion Practices and Perceived Stress," College Student Journal 47, no. 3 (2013): 439-440, Academic Search Premier (90516440).

Bibliography:

Ying, Li, and Billie Lindsey. "An Association Between College Students' Health Promotion Practices and Perceived Stress." 

     College Student Journal 47, no. 3 (2013): 437-446. Academic Search Premier (90516440).

Be sure to include the page number range for the entire article.

Article from a Holy Family Database: Three Authors

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

     1. Eric Coccia Hammel, Sally Shaw, and Tammy Smith Taylor, "Toward a New Mindfulness: Explorations of Home and Community Literacies," Language Arts 90, no. 6 (2013): 431, Education Full Text (89188268).

Bibliography:

Hammel, Eric Coccia, Sally Shaw, and Tammy Smith  Taylor.  "Toward a New Mindfulness: Explorations of Home and 

     Community Literacies." Language Arts 90, no. 6 (2013): 428-440. Education Full Text (89188268).

Article from a Holy Family Database: Four to Ten Authors

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

     1. Charna D'Ardenne et al., "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade 3-5 Readers," Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 144, Education Full Text (90470439).

Instead of listing the additional authors, use et al. which means "and others."

Bibliography:

D'Ardenne, Charna, Degra G. Barnes, Elaine S. Hightower, Pamela R. Lamason, Mary Mason, Paula C. Patterson,

     Nancy Stephens, Carolyn E. Wilson, Vickie H. Smith, and Karen A. Erickson. "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for

     Struggling Grade 3-5 Readers." Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 143-151. Education Full Text (90470439).

List all the author's names in the bibliography.

Article Located Online - DOI Available

When referencing an article you retrieved from the Internet (NOT from one of Holy Family's databases), you must include either the DOI number or the exact URL for the article. Note that DOI numbers refer to both the in-print and electronic version of an article, but Chicago style notes that using the DOI is preferable. You may wish to check with your faculty member.

For more information about DOI numbers, see DOI Numbers from the pull down menu on the left.

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

This article has ten authors. Instead of listing the additional authors, use et al. which means "and others."

   1. Charna D'Ardenne et al., "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade 3-5 Readers," Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 144, doi:10.1002/TRTR.1180.

Bibliography:

D'Ardenne, Charna, Degra G. Barnes, Elaine S. Hightower, Pamela R. Lamason, Mary Mason, Paula C. Patterson, Nancy

     Stephens, Carolyn E. Wilson, Vickie H. Smith, and Karen A. Erickson. "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling

     Grade 3-5 Readers." Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 143-151. doi:10.1002/TRTR.1180.

List all the author's names in the bibliography.

Article Retrieved from the Internet - URL

When referencing an article you retrieved from the Internet (NOT from one of Holy Family's databases), you must include either the DOI number or the exact URL for the article. 

Note:  Remember that notes will include page numbers referring to the specific pages you are citing ONLY if you retrieved the article in .pdf format.

This article has ten authors. Instead of listing the additional authors, use et al. which means "and others."

   1. Charna D'Ardenne et al., "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade 3-5 Readers," Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 144, http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/trtr.1180/pdf.

Bibliography:

D'Ardenne, Charna, Degra G. Barnes, Elaine S. Hightower, Pamela R. Lamason, Mary Mason, Paula C. Patterson, Nancy Stephens,

     Carolyn E. Wilson, Vickie H. Smith, and Karen A. Erickson. "PLCs in Action: Innovative Teaching for Struggling Grade

     3-5 Readers." Reading Teacher 67, no. 2 (2013): 143-151. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/trtr.1180/pdf.

List all the author's names in the bibliography.

Magazine Article - ONLINE Version

Note:

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

                  Example: According to Mayer's article in Time on November 4, 2013,...

When citing an article in a note, remember: 

  • Magazines are generally cited by date only and it is not necessary to include the volume and issue number. 
  • The page number in a note is preceded by a comma, not a colon.

    1. Catherine Mayer, "Inside Prince Charles' World as He Quietly Takes Charge," Time, November 4, 2013,  http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2155616,00.html?pcd=hp-magmod.

Bibliography:

  • Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 
  • If you do include the citation in the bibliography, it is not necessary to include the inclusive page numbers for the entire article, but you may wish to check with your faculty.

Mayer, Catherine. "Inside Prince Charles' World as He Quietly Takes Charge." Time, November 4, 2013.              

     http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2155616,00.html?pcd=hp-magmod.

Newspaper Article - ONLINE Version, Authored

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

                  Example: According to Suzett'e Parmley's article in The Philadelphia Inquirer on October 22, 2013...

Note:

Special considerations for newspapers:

  • Omit the initial "The" in the newspaper's title. For instance, The Philadelphia Inquirer becomes Philadelphia Inquirer.
  • Page numbers may be omitted as there are often several editions of the same newspaper, and items may be omitted or relocated in various editions.   
  • If you know which edition of the newspaper you are citing, place it after a comma after the date. 

    1. Suzette Parmley, "N.J. Growers Aim to Sell the World on Cranberries," October 22, 2013, Philadelphia Inquirer, Gloucester County edition, http://www.inquirer.com/local/nj/gloucester/       20131011_N_J__growers_aim_to_sell_the_world_on_cranberries.html.

Bibliography:

Parmley, Suzette. "N.J. Growers Aim to Sell the World on Cranberries." October 22, 2013. Philadelphia Inquirer, Gloucester County

     edition. http://www.inquirer.com/local/nj/gloucester/20131011_N_J__growers_aim_to_sell_the_world_on_cranberries.html.

Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 

Newspaper Article - ONLINE Version, no author

Chicago style indicates that newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in the text of your paper instead of in a note, but check with you faculty member.

           Example: According to an article about China Mobile'e profit in the Philadelphia Inquirer article on October 22, 2013,...

Note:

The title moves to the first position when citing an unsigned article.

     1. "China Mobile Profit Down on Tougher Competition," Philadelphia      Inquirer, October 22, 2013. http://www.philly.com/philly/wires/ap/business/20131022_ap_74ac2f72f09c4af1b184c38937450683.html?c=r.

Bibliography:

In the bibliography, the name of the newspaper is moved to the author position.

Philadelphia Inquirer. "China Mobile Profit Down on Tougher Competition."  October 22, 2013.

     http://www.philly.com/philly/wires/ap/business/20131022_ap_74ac2f72f09c4af1b184c38937450683.html?c=r.

Chicago style indicates magazine and newspaper citations are commonly omitted from a bibliography. Check with your faculty member. 

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315