Skip to main content

Citing Sources

Style Guides

Copies of The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) and A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers (8th edition) are found in the reference and check out collections of the Library, as well as the reference section of the Newtown LRC.

Before You Start

Please read the information about Crediting Sources Using Notes and Chicago Style: Bibliography before using these examples. 

 

General Rules for Citing eBooks

Generally, ebooks are referenced in notes and bibliographies just as print books are. See the page for citing print books for examples. Be sure to include:

  • The full name of authors or editors as they are displayed on the title page of the book or in the book chapter. 
  • Chapter title, if applicable, in "double quotes."
  • The full title of the book in italics and capitalize all significant words.
  • The editor or translator, if there is one.
  • The edition number if the book is not the first edition.
  • A volume number if applicable.
  • The city of publication and state of publication. If the city of publication is well known, it is not necessary to include the two letter state abbreviation. If the place of publication is not available, use n.p. or N.p. (no place). 
  • The publisher's name, but you can omit the initial "the," as well as inc., ltd., co., and publishing co. Retain the words "books" and usually "press" in the publisher's name. 

In addition:

  • If you read a book in a format such as Kindle or Nook, include the format in a notation at the end of the citation per the examples below. 
  • If you read a book on line, include a DOI or URL per the examples below.
  • Because ebooks may differ in format from their print counterparts and because page numbers are not stable, it is permissible to include a chapter or section number when citing the book in notes. IF your source is the .pdf version duplicating the original, in-print source, page numbers should correspond to the original version.

Guides

 The Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide  by the Chicago Manual of Style Online provides some brief information and examples of this form of citation. 

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help in Chicago Style. 

You can also find information about Chicago Style at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. 

E-Reader Version

Note:

     1. Malala Yousafzai, My Name is Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban, contrib. Christina Lamb (n. p.: Little, Brown, & Company, 2013), Kindle edition, part one.

In this example, Christina Lamb contributed to the book. The place of publication is not known and therefore n.p. is used. As page numbers change according to the font size on the Kindle, the chapter (part one) is cited in lieu of page numbers.

Bibliography:

Yousafzai, Malala. My Name is Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban. With contributions

     by Christina Lamb. N.p.: Little, Brown, & Company, 2013. Kindle edition.

eBooks Located on the Web

Note:

    1. Lester Chadwick, Baseball Joe, Home Run King or The Greatest Pitcher and Batter on Record (1922; Project Gutenberg, 2013), chap. 3, http://www.gutenberg.org/files/43940/43940-h/43940-h.htm

 As page numbers in an HTML document don't match the original page numbers, the chapter number is cited in lieu of page numbers.

Bibliography:

Chadwich, Lester. Baseball Joe, Home Run King or The Greatest Pitcher and Batter on Record. Reprint of the 1922 New York

     edition, Project Guttenberg, 2013. http://www.gutenberg.org/files/43940/43940-h/43940-h.htm

eBooks from Holy Family's eBooks Collection

Note:

    1. Robert C. Evans, "Civil Disobedience and Realpolitik in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter,” in Bloom's Literary Themes: Civil Disobedience, eds. Blake Hobby and Harold Bloom (New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism, 2010), eBook Collection (Ebscohost) (314879), 243-244.

In this example, Evans wrote a chapter in the Bloom's series. This source was retrieved from Ebsco's eBook collection. The six digit number provided is the accession number, followed by the page numbers actually cited. As this source is in a .pdf format the original page numbers are intact.

Bibliography:

Evans, Robert C. "Civil Disobedience and Realpolitik in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter." In Bloom's Literary Themes:

     Civil Disobedience, edited by Blake Hobby and Harold Bloom, 243-253. New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism, 2010.

     eBook Collection (Ebscohost) (314879)

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315