Skip to main content

Citing Sources

What's Included in this Guide?

Guides

 The Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide  by the Chicago Manual of Style Online provides some brief information and examples of this form of citation. 

The OWL at Purdue provides resources that may useful for writing projects & citation help in Chicago Style. 

You can also find information about Chicago Style at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. 

Style Guides

Copies of The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) and A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers (8th edition) are found in the reference and check out collections of the Library, as well as the reference section of the Newtown LRC.

Before You Start

Please read the information about Crediting Sources Using Notes and Chicago Style: Bibliography before using these examples. 

 

Web Page

This example is for web pages. If you are citing an article from one of Holy Family 's databases, an article located on line, or an ebook, check the appropriate examples under the pull down menu on the left. 

The Chicago Manual of Style provides minimal guidance for citing web pages. See:  http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html

Special considerations for web page:

  • According to Chicago style, a reference to information on a web page can be mentioned in your paper's text or in a note. Check with your faculty member to see if a more formal citation is necessary.
  • References should include the exact title of the page in double quotes.
  • Include an author's name if available. It is permissible to use a corporation or group name as the author. 
  • Generally Chicago style does not require access dates unless there is not a date of publication or of modification available.
  • End the citation with the exact url of the page; end the url with a period.

Note:    

     1. "Expectations for Teacher Preparation Programs: The Best Practices of Effective History Teaching," accessed November 21, 2013, http://www.nche.net/best-practices-of-effective-history-teaching.

Bibliography:

National Council for History Education. "Expectations for Teacher Preparation Programs: The Best Practices of  Effective History

     Teaching." Accessed November 21, 2013, http://www.nche.net/best-practices-of-effective-history-teaching.

Blogs

  • Blog entries can be noted in the text of your paper and are commonly omitted from the bibliography, but check with your faculty on this point.
  • Include the author, the entry's name in double quotation marks, the blog's title and the exact url.
  • When citing a blog comment, begin the entry with the commenter's name and the date of the comment, as well as the phrase "comment on"
  • If the blog is a part of a another publication, include the word blog per the examples below - unless "blog" is part of the name.

Notes:

     1. Tina L. Ligon, "Wanted: Colored Inventors," Rediscovering Black History: Updates at the National Archives (blog), November 5, 2013, http://blogs.archives.gov/blackhistoryblog/2013/11/05/wanted-colored-inventors/.

     2. Thomas, November 6, 2013 (5:05 p.m.), comment on Tina L. Ligon, "Wanted: Colored Inventors," Rediscovering Black History: Updates at the National Archives (blog), November 5, 2013, http://blogs.archives.gov/blackhistoryblog/2013/11/05/wanted-colored-inventors/.

Bibliography:

Blogs are generally NOT included in the bibliography; however, a frequently cited blog could be included.

Rediscovering Black History: Updates at the National Archives (blog). http://blogs.archives.gov/blackhistoryblog/.

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315