Counseling and Psychology

Our research databases are the place to go for journals, magazines, and newspaper articles. Here are the steps:

1. Go to the Research Databases page

2. Choose a database. If you are not sure where to start, try Academic Search

3. When prompted, enter your Holy Family Canvas credentials (your HF email address and password)

4. Enter search terms and use the search limits if necessary.

5. If an article is not in full text, we can obtain a copy for you via interlibrary loan. You can use the interlibrary loan link in the databases or fill out the form here.                              

These databases reference literature in Counseling and Psychology. Check out the "related databases" for additional articles on specific topics.

You may already know that you can search by keyword, author, title. Did you also know that you can limit your search by age group? Methodology? Tests & measures?

Get the most out of these resources by learning how to limit your search using the fields in each database. The guide below outlines all of the fields used in PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

Searching with Publication Finder

When you are looking for full-text access...

Sometimes you may hit a pay-wall or articles are not available in full-text in a database. You can search the Publication Finder to see if Holy Family University has access to that journal or periodical.

For example, you have the following citation:

Beaton, A. M. (2017). Designing a Community of Shared Learning. Educational Leadership, 74(8), 78-82.

1. Go to the Publication Finder link found on the library page
2. Click on the search bar and type the journal title in the box

If the availability of the journal is shown:

1. Click on the Full-Text Access tab for coverage and Database information
   • Click the link that has the desired coverage for your research topic
     • For example: For Reading Teacher Journal we have coverage in Academic Search Ultimate from 02/01/1990 – 1 year ago however in Wiley Online Library we have coverage from 01/01/2011 – to the present. If an article is needed from 1994, you would select the Academic Search option but if an article is a need from the current year, you would select the Wiley Online option.
   • Please note: If accessing from off-campus, you will need to log in with your Canvas credentials in order to authenticate your affiliation with the university.
2. Click on the year (found in your citation), then volume and issue number
3. Scroll through the results for that issue until you find the article

What to do when the Publication Finder shows "No Results"

If Holy Family does not have access to the journal or magazine that published your article, you can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan. A link to the online form is on the library forms page. If a requested article is available electronically, it may arrive via email within 2-3 days.