Skip to main content

Dissertations

Locating Dissertations

Some dissertations and theses are available in full text from Holy Family’s subscription to ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Items not available in full text can be ordered via ProQuest or Interlibrary Loan.

PsycInfo - Holy Family's subscription to this database includes references to (not the full text of) dissertations as well. Items not available in full text can be ordered via ProQuest or Interlibrary Loan.

Use the links below to locate the citation to, the abstract of, and in some cases the full text of dissertations and theses.

Citing Dissertations

Dissertations and theses may be published or unpublished. Be sure to determine the published status of a dissertation or master’s thesis and choose the appropriate citation format. 

1) Unpublished dissertation or thesis (See the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, p. 207):

Ruppel, K. K. (2010). Information literacy and the adult graduate student (Unpublished

   master’s thesis). Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ.

  • Include the type of document such as doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis
  • Include the name and location of the institution granting degree

2) Dissertation or thesis obtained from a commercial database (See the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, p. 207):

Aillaud, B. J. (2010). Using fluid inclusions to trace formative fluid evolution at the Verde and

   Pancho Porphyry gold deposits of the Refugio District, Chile (Doctoral dissertation).

   Retrieved from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. 1479116)

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315