Library Access Services

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service through which materials not owned by Holy Family University Library may be requested and obtained from other libraries. 

Holy Family University (HFU) students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service.  

Alumni and guest patrons are not eligible to use this service here at HFU.  We encourage you contact the ILL service at your home institution or local public library.

For questions about Interlibrary Loan, please visit the front desk of the main floor of the Library.

Telephone: 267-341-3315 

Email: interlibraryloan@holyfamily.edu

• Online - You may submit an online request here.
• Through EBSCOhost Discovery Service (EDS), our online catalog, if a “Request this item through interlibrary loan” button is displayed, you may click on the button to access an ILL request form.  Complete the form and click “submit”.
• In the EBSCOhost Databases, where an Interlibrary Loan link is displayed, click on the link, complete the form, and click “submit”.
• In writing/In-person – Paper request forms are available at the Circulation Desk.

Please remember that the Library staff will gladly provide assistance with and answer your questions about the ILL service.

What kind of materials can ILL provide?

• BOOKS – Borrowed items are usually lent for 2 to 6 weeks, depending on the policy of the lending library.  Materials are sometimes designated for use in the library only.
• ARTICLES – Copies of articles that are not available from the HFU library online or print collections are provided through ILL.
• DISSERTATIONS / THESES – We can attempt to request these materials, however, they tend to have limited availability and many libraries do not lend them. Be sure to check the ProQuest database for any full-text access.
• DVDs / CDs / VIDEOS (media) – Again, we will request these materials, however since some library policies still do not allow the lending of media, it may take longer to receive.

What material should NOT be requested on ILL?

• Materials in our Library collection:  We cannot accept requests for materials that are owned by the HFU library.  This is in compliance with the National Interlibrary Loan Code and includes books that are on reserve, charged out to other users, or in non-circulating collections.  However, books that are lost may be requested on ILL.
• Classroom textbooks:  We cannot accept requests for materials to be used as classroom textbooks.  These materials are often difficult to obtain for various reasons and the borrowing period will not cover usage for the whole semester.
• eBooks:  EBooks not in our library collection cannot be requested through ILL since licensing for eBooks are specific to the purchasing library.

How long does it take to receive my materials?

ILL book/media loans usually take 2-3 weeks to arrive via postal service mail. 

Article copies usually arrive within 1-3 business days via email. 

Receipt times can vary, so ILL requests should be placed well in advance of the due date of a major paper/assignment.

What is the fee for this service?

This is a free service, however, overdue/lost ILL books will incur a processing and replacement fee created by the lending library.

Please note: HF Library can not control the amount the lending library demands and patrons are responsible to pay the fine in full. Patron accounts with overdue or lost ILL items were received a hold on their university's account until the item is returned or the fine is completely paid.

How will I know when the material I have requested is received?

You will be notified by your Holy Family email when your ILL material is received.  Book/media loans are to be picked up in the library at the front desk.  You may also check on the status of a pending ILL request by contacting the library or emailing interlibraryloan@holyfamily.edu.

Please note that you are responsible for verifying the citation of each item requested by using a research database, a standard bibliography, a catalog, or an index.  You may also include a copy of your citation with your ILL request.