There are MANY places to search for OER resources. The types of resources vary from textbooks to lesson to assignments. Here we attempt to isolate some of the most useful search engines that search multiple repositories or specific types of OER. Please be aware that there is some redundancy and all of the collections have their own platforms.
LibreTexts has MANY different resources, but there can be a learning curve for some. Luckily, they have created helpful video tutorials available here.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
We began in 1996 by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. Like newspapers, the content published on the web was ephemeral - but unlike newspapers, no one was saving it. Today we have 28+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and we work with 1,200+ library and other partners through our Archive-It program to identify important web pages.
As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains:
Visit the Rights Page for detailed copyright and usage rights information
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.
We work with a national network of partners to:
Some notes on Copyright and DPLA
What’s the deal with copyright and a DPLA item?
The copyright status of items in DPLA varies. DPLA links to a wide variety of different materials: many are in the public domain, while others are under rights restrictions but nonetheless publicly viewable. For individual rights information about an item, please check the “Rights” field in the metadata, or follow the link to the digital object on the content provider’s website for more information.
What are those icons on a DPLA record?
Rights Statements icons are part of a new endeavor, developed in collaboration with Europeana, to clearly communicate the copyright status of items available on our site. We will be working with our content providers to attach a standardized rights statement, and accompanying icon, to each of our records. This makes it a streamlined experience for you, our users — you’ll be able to tell, by a glance, whether or not a particular item is available to re-use.
I want to secure rights to a particular DPLA item. Whom should I email about that?
Please do not contact DPLA directly about item specific permissions — you must contact the institution that provided the content to DPLA. Each metadata record in DPLA contains a link to the item on the content provider’s website.
| Library Home | Information Literacy | Library Forms |
| Research Databases | Library Staff | Email: reference@holyfamily.edu |
| Library Hours | University Archives | Phone: 267-341-3315 |
