Nursing

Our research databases are the place to go for journals, magazines, and newspaper articles. Here are the steps:

1. Go to the Research Databases page

2. Choose a database. If you are not sure where to start, try Academic Search

3. When prompted, enter your Holy Family Canvas credentials (your HF email address and password)

4. Enter search terms and use the search limits if necessary.

5. If an article is not in full text, we can obtain a copy for you via interlibrary loan. You can use the interlibrary loan link in the databases or fill out the form here.                              

Take these tutorials to learn how to search for and retrieve the best information from health and nursing databases hosted by PubMed and the EBSCO search platform. Holy Family's EBSCO databases for Nursing include: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) and MedLine Plus with Full Text. 

Use the link to PubMed from the Nursing Databases link below to access Holy Family University's customized interface, including links to full text articles not otherwise available in the standard online version. PubMed indexes and abstracts thousands of journals from biomedical publishing and offers powerful search functions based on specialized medical subject headings (MeSH) as well as standard keyword searching.

The highest-quality nursing research is published by for-profit companies and availability through standard web searches is very limited. 

However, there are some services that either limit searches to selected, websites such as those provided by various national health organizations in the U.S. and other countries, or that we have connected to our database and journal subscriptions.

Mednar searches the "deep web" of government, health organizations, and other selected sites specializing in health, nursing, and medicine. These sites tend to be deeply buried in standard search engine results lists. You can search for full-text articles in Mednar by checking the box just beneath the main search window.

Search for journal articles in Google Scholar. If you see the "full text at HFU" message, you can click to connect to the article in one of our databases or ejournals. If a publisher charges for an article that we do not have access to, no need to pay a high fee! We can get it for you.

The following journals have some of the highest "impact factors" of any nursing publications- articles in these publications are cited frequently in other published research and are peer-reviewed to ensure soundness of methodology and findings.