LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Finding Websites

Courts and Laws

New Jersey Courts
This is the official site of the New Jersey Judiciary.
Oyez
The Oyez Project is sponsored by the Chicago-Kent College of Law and it is a "multimedia archive." It includes: all audio recorded in the Supreme Court from 1955 to the present; information about Supreme Court Justices; a virtual reality tour of sections in the Supreme Court building.
Pennsylvania's Unified Judicial System
Official site of the Pennsylvania court system.
Thomas: Library of Congress
Legislative information from the Library of Congress, including the texts of federal laws, bills, and resolutions.
United States Courts
Official site of the U.S. federal court system.
United States Judiciary
This site links to a variety of information about laws, courts, and treaties.

Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
A great primary source for criminal justice statistics from the Department of Justice.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Provides older crime and justice data from federal agencies, state agencies, and research projects. Data includes report on capital punishment, homicides, violence again women, and more.
Uniform Crime Reports
Produced by the FBI, these reports provide nearly 10 years worth of crime statistics for the United States.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Compiled by the Utilization of Criminal Justice Statistics Project of the University of Albany since 1973.

General Sources

CSG Public Safety Knowledge Center
News reports and policy research in various areas of criminal justice, juvenile justice, and corrections, reported by the Council on State Governments.
FindLaw
This site provides a comprehensive set of legal resources on the Internet for professionals, businesses, students, and individuals. It also includes current news and extensive links to many legal and criminal justice topics.
Lawguru.com
This is an excellent legal search engine with many links to courts, laws, and resources.
Legal Information Institute
This non-profit institute is "a small research, engineering, and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY... Collaborators include publishers, legal scholars, computer scientists, government agencies, and other groups and individuals that promote open access to law, worldwide."
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Information on all aspects of crime and crime prevention; you can browse the site or use the reference service to ask a question.
RefDesk Law
This site provides an eclectic list of law-related links.

Associations

Association websites often provide useful information on current topics. You should also be familiar with associations related to your field so that you can continue to develop professionally after obtaining your degree.

Federal Law Enforcement Agencies

Regional Law Enforcement Agencies

Prisons and Corrections

National Institute of Corrections
This is an agency within the US Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. The site deals with issues, policies, and current events within the American correctional system.
Federal Bureau of Prisons - Community Corrections Policy
Community corrections is a large penal component of the Federal Bureau of Prisons correctional programs and is designed to be a liaison with the federal courts, state and local corrections staff and facilities, and a variety of community groups.
Restorative Justice Resources
This site deals with international justice resources and the restoration of justice so that individuals and communities that have been affected by crime can be healed .

Crime and Prevention

Crime Scene Investigator Network
This site includes articles and links about crime scene response, evidence collection, crime scene photography, and more.
National Gang Center
Site provides a variety of reports, statistics, and strategies for reducing gang-related crime.
National White Collar Crime Center
Site provides information and support for the prevention, investigation, and prosecution of economic and high-tech crimes.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
O.J.J.D.P. provides a variety of information about juveniles in crisis, including: child protection, delinquency prevention, detention, schools, and health.

Educational Video

Today, there several ways to learn online. Please check out the sites below and have a look at our favorite YouTube channels here.

Academic Earth
Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education, whether you want to explore a new topic or advance in your current field, they bring the amazing world of academia to you for free.
Coursera
Coursera is an education platform that partners with top universities and organizations worldwide, to offer courses online for anyone to take.
CrashCourse
Tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel.
EdX
EdX was created for students and institutions that seek to transform themselves through cutting-edge technologies, innovative pedagogy, and rigorous courses.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
Praeger University
Prager University is an online resource promoting knowledge and clarity through a conservative lens.
School of Life
At The School of Life, we're fascinated by the sort of questions we're never taught enough about at school or college.
TED
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).

TED Crime

Visit this TED playlist, TED's YouTube channel, or TED.com for more.

Library Home	Information Literacy	Library Forms
Research Databases	Library Staff	Email: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours	University Archives	Phone: 267-341-3315