LibGuides: Life Sciences: Medical Atlases & Images

Evaluating Resources on the Web

Use the following criteria to evaluate the credibility of information you find on the Web.

Authority: What are the author's qualifications for writing on the subject?

Accuracy: How reliable and free from error is the information?

Objectivity: Is the information presented with a minimum of bias?

Currency: Is the information current, and can you tell when it was published?

Check the domain (.com, .edu, .gov, .org, etc.) Some domains are restricted to certain types of organizations while others may be bought or sold by anyone. .edu & .gov are limited to educational and government organizations. There are no limitations on .com & .org. Always be aware of who is publishing the website and where the content is coming from.

Medical Atlases

AnatomyAtlases.org
Website maintained by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.
Human Anatomy Resources
American Medical Association
Body Maps
High quality 3-D visualizations of the human body.
Lessons from a Bone Box
Part of www.anatomyatlases.org maintained by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D. Includes videos and explanations for different bones of the skeletal system.
The Visible Human Project
U.S. National Library of Medicine. Cryosection, MRI and CT image data of a male and female cadaver. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals.

Medical Image Collections

National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
NCI Visuals Online contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education, National Cancer Institute.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Search for photos, illustrations and videos in general medical sciences.
Public Health Image Library
Images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Images are organized into the three categories: people, places, and science. Database includes photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files.
BIODIC
Collection of 1600 electron micrographs. Includes anatomy, animal biology, cell biology, plant biology, Monera-prokaryots, fungi, and protists.

Images & Copyright

We've included some links to image collections so that you can view them for your own reference. However, before reusing any images, be sure to check the copyright associated with each site!

Using an image without citing it is plagiarism, but citing it may not be enough. You may need to contact the copyright holder for permission, or in some cases, pay a fee.

You are responsible for complying with the copyright of each site. If you have any questions, please ask us.

Library Home	Information Literacy	Library Forms
Research Databases	Library Staff	Email: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours	University Archives	Phone: 267-341-3315