The Library's Course Reserves Service helps students find access to textbooks and helps lower the cost while also increasing faculty engagement and creating opportunities for library outreach.
Reserves allow instructors to request library materials* (including books, copies of articles, and DVDs) be placed on reserve at the library for certain loan periods (in-library use, overnight, or 1 week) for students to use in their classes. Instructors may also place items they own on reserve for their classes.**
Questions? Contact the Access Service Coordinator
*Please note that course-required textbooks are not kept on reserve unless requested by an instructor.
**Please note: The library cannot assume responsibility for loss or damage to personal materials placed on reserve.
Faculty are encouraged to link to licensed, full-text electronic resources provided by the Libraries whenever possible. The content found on the open web should be reviewed to ensure that it is available to share:
NOTICE - WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTION
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of the specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, the fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.
Please review the following information before placing a reserve request. These guidelines apply to both physical and electronic reserves.
Questions? Contact the Access Service Coordinator.
At the end of each semester, all materials are removed from the reserve.
Library materials are returned to the collection and personal copies are returned to the instructor.
A courtesy email will be sent to the instructor for pick up at the end of the semester.*
*Please note: Regarding personal copies of items, if no response is received or if the item is not picked up within a certain amount of time, the item will be added to the Library collection.
*The Library can keep a physical version of items for course reserves at the information front desk (print materials include Libraries-owned books, textbooks, and DVDs).
**Instructors may also provide their own personal materials for reserve.
Once the request has been processed and is ready for use a courtesy email will be sent to the instructor.
If an instructor would like to view the course reserves within our catalog, patrons can search for course reserve materials by either the class name or the professor's last name within our catalog
* Please note that course-required textbooks are not kept on reserve unless requested by an instructor.
**Please note that the Library is not responsible for the loss or damage to personal or departmental copies placed on Reserve.
The Library maintains a small collection of online electronic materials including journal articles and ebooks owned by the university which can be accessed via our online catalog.
Library Course Reserves provide faculty with an opportunity to make required course materials available to students. Reserves can be borrowed for either “in-library use," overnight, or for 1 week (decided by the instructor).
The Library is happy to assist faculty with placing course materials on reserve for students. Reserve items may include books, personal copies, articles, multimedia, and other course-related materials.
Materials that may be placed on reserve:
Circulating copies of materials owned by the Library (books, DVDs, academic media, etc.).
Personal book copies from the instructor.*
Photocopies of journal articles, book chapters, essays, and graphs
*Please note that the Library is not responsible for the loss or damage to personal or departmental copies placed on Reserve.
Materials generally not appropriate for reserve:
Reference collection materials
Books or media obtained via Interlibrary Loan
Instructors must submit all course reserve requests either in person at the Library's front information desk or online via our course reserve form.
Electronic course reserve readings will be accessible via our Library's online catalog. Physical items placed on reserve will be available at the Library's front information desk for access. To check to see if an item is on reserve, search for the title in our Library's online catalog.
Questions? Contact the Access Service Coordinator
All students, faculty, and staff are eligible to borrow reserve materials. Loan periods are determined by the instructor placing the item on reserves. Patrons must present a current Holy Family ID to borrow items on reserve.
| Library Home | Information Literacy | Library Forms |
| Research Databases | Library Staff | Email: reference@holyfamily.edu |
| Library Hours | University Archives | Phone: 267-341-3315 |