Research Help: The Research Process

Why Use the Library? Can't I Just Go on the Internet?

• Library resources, including online resources, are carefully selected to support courses offered at Holy Family.
• Holy Family's research databases index articles (that is, list and categorize them) from thousands of periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals), both popular and scholarly.
• Databases and other searchable online collections provide multiple ways to search and to limit the results you retrieve--you get better information for less time and effort.
• Holy Family's Research Guides contain pre-selected resources and research tips by topic to get you started.
• You are responsible for evaluating what you find on the Internet! Scholarly sources, on the other hand, are reviewed by professionals before publication, guaranteeing you trustworthy information with no guesswork.
• Internet search engines like Google can only retrieve publicly accessible web pages, not content from secure pages. In most cases, the full-text articles in our databases, which can only be accessed with your user ID and password, are not available on the open Web.

're•search: Systematic investigation or inquiry aimed at contributing to knowledge of a theory, topic, etc., by careful consideration, observation, or study of a subject. (Oxford English Dictionary Online)

Whether at the freshman or Ph.D. level, research follows the same basic process. Be flexible; some steps may take longer than others. Some steps may have to be repeated depending on how they turn out.

1. Choose a general topic; determine what you need to know about it.
2. Review background information on your topic.
3. Use what you have learned to refine your topic into a research question.
4. Determine what resources you need to consult: books, articles, news sources, statistics, etc.
5. Start your search with the right tools: the library catalog, research databases, government statistics website, etc.
6. Gather information and evaluate it both for quality and usefulness in answering your question.
7. Synthesize (integrate) and analyze your information; incorporate your new knowledge into your project.
8. Cite the sources you used in a bibliography, reference list or works cited list.

This guide explains these steps in detail. Follow the guide page by page with the navigation menus to learn about research. See other Library Research Guides by subject.

Remember, reference librarians, are always here to help! Email, call, chat, text us or stop by the reference desk during any open library hours.

Most class assignments that require research fall into one of the categories below. However, your instructor's expectations may differ. ALWAYS consult your instructor and read your syllabus for the exact requirements of any assignment!

• Article analysis or summary Find an appropriate article, usually from a scholarly journal, and analyze the hypothesis, design, and execution of a research study. Comment on the conclusions the author(s) reached. The research aspect of this assignment is in finding an article that fits your instructor's guidelines ("primary source," qualitative or quantitative research, acceptable date range, etc.).
• Annotated bibliography Select a research topic and find several sources of information on it (usually books, book chapters, and articles; sometimes articles only). Summarize the sources and evaluate each on its scholarly attributes (quality of the study, value of its contribution to knowledge on the topic, etc.). 
• Literature review Search the published literature (usually scholarly articles); summarize and evaluate several sources. Comment on the state of the research on the topic: is it current? Are there gaps in the research? Researchers always conduct a literature review once they have developed their hypothesis but before they design and conduct experiments--they want to contribute something original, not duplicate existing research!
• Essay There are many different types of essays. Some are from individual perspectives (such as reflections, personal essays, or response to a literary work) and may not require research beyond a textbook reading. Others require support for ideas expressed (argumentative or persuasive essays). Essays often allow for the use of personal pronouns, unlike the strictly scholarly 3rd-person voice required in a research paper.
• Research paper In a research paper, you will ask a research question or state a hypothesis. You will then gather and synthesize (integrate) existing research studies on your topic to explain your topic to the reader and show how the research answers your question or supports your hypothesis. Usually, you will draw your own new conclusions from your research and present them in your paper. 
• Research study or experiment Design and carry out an original research study that tests a hypothesis, then draw conclusions based on the results (usually undertaken at upper levels of study). Each step in this process takes place under faculty guidance, from forming the hypothesis to presenting the results. Extensive research on the topic is done in the initial stages ("literature review") both to develop the hypothesis and to avoid duplicating existing research.