LibGuides: Business & Technology: Finding Websites and Online Resources

Evaluating Sources on the Web

Use the following criteria to evaluate the credibility of information you find on the Web.

Authority: What are the author's qualifications for writing on the subject?

Accuracy: How reliable and free from error is the information?

Objectivity: Is the information presented with a minimum of bias?

Currency: Is the information current, and can you tell when it was published?

Check the domain (.com, .edu, .gov, .org, etc.) Some domains are restricted to certain types of organizations while others may be bought or sold by anyone. .edu & .gov are limited to educational and government organizations. There are no limitations on .com & .org. Always be aware of who is publishing the website and where the content is coming from.

Accounting & Finance Websites

Accounting Coach
Learn or review basic accounting online for free.
Accounting Terminology Guide
A great dictionary for accounting terms.
Accounting Today for the WebCPA
WebCPA News, links and information for accounting professionals.
Management and Accounting Web
Links to a wide range of management and accounting web sites and other related topics.
Accounting Info
Contains study guides and information for people who are professional accountants, non-accountants, and business students.

Accounting Associations Websites

Associations websites are great sources of information about a profession, and often include information about news and trends in a particular field.

US Government and International Agencies

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
The FDIC insures bank deposits and ensures responsible banking practices.
The Federal Reserve
The homepage of the United States Federal Reserve provides banking information from the "central bank of the United States."
Internal Revenue Service
The homepage of the United States Internal Revenue Service.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF is an international organization which promotes monetary cooperation and exchange, as well as financial assistance, to 184 member countries.

Selected Websites - Business Ethics

Business Ethics: The Magazine of Corporate Responsibility
International Business Ethics
IBEI, is a nonprofit educational organization founded in 1994 in response to the growing need for transnationalism in the field of business ethics. The website includes news, reports, bibliographies, and links to further resources.
Journal of Business Ethics
Browse the table of contents or search for articles, and read abstracts online. Selected articles are available in full text. Additional articles can be obtained by Interlibrary Loan.
Santa Clara University - Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
This site includes articles, cases, and multimedia presentations about ethics.
Knowledge@Wharton
Online research and analysis journal of U. Penn's Wharton School of Business.

General Business Information Websites

Library of Congress, Business Reference Services
Links to an extensive list of web sources catagorized by subject.
Small Business Administration
This of the US Small Business Administration is great for all kinds of information regarding small business enterprises.
Doing Business
This site from the World Bank offers information on business regulation and enforcement in national and regional markets around the world.
WDR - World Development Reports
The World Bank’s World Development Report is an invaluable guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development.
BigCharts
Free website that offers stock price charts.
GuideStar
A free public source that contains a directory, financials, and ratings of nonprofits and charities.

Business News Websites

Business Statistics Websites

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides information on economic and labor statistics, including the Consumer Price Index, Unemployment Rate, Employment Projections. It also publishes the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
Resources to Help You Learn and Use SPSS
Information and links to SPSS resources from the UCLA Academic Technology Services Department.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Compendium of national and state data covering social, economic, and demographic information from the US Census Bureau. Last updated in 2012.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
From the United States Census Bureau, SUSB is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.
United States Census Bureau
Alphabetical list of data arranged by specific subjects such as population, trade, taxes, transportation, maps, and more.

Economics Websites

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The United States Department of Commerce's "Bureau of Economic Analysis" (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page
Economic Time series page where one “ can browse over 400,000 data files, with charts and Excel files for each.” Contains some excellent links.
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
This site has excellent economic news, links, and information. This site also provides teachers with information about education in economics topics.
Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
The OECD helps governments tackle the economic and social challenges of a globalized economy.

Tax Websites

Internal Revenue Service
The United States Internal Revenue Service.
NJ Department of Treasury, Division of Taxation
Pennsylvania Department of Revenue

Human Resources Websites

HRGuide.com
This is a directory of sites for human resources professionals.
Employment Law Basics
FindLaw's site reviews the most common aspects of employment law.
Best Organizations and Associations for Human Resource Professionals
Links to organizations and associations for HR professionals

Management Websites

Management and Accounting Web
Links to a wide range of management and accounting web sites and other related topics.
Management Internet Library
While not a true library, this commercial site includes links to material for students, teachers, and professionals.
SkyMark's Management Glossary
A brief glossary of common terms used in management.
SkyMark’s Overview: Management Resources
This website is a guide for locating concise information on advanced management topics.

Marketing and Advertising Websites

Ad*Access
From Duke University Libraries, this is a searchable database containing images of over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
KnowThis.com: Marketing
Offers resources about marketing, selling, advertising, promotion and e-commerce.
Rutgers University - Electronic Commerce
This Research Guide from Rutgers University links to a wealth of information concerning eCommerce.

Library Home	Information Literacy	Library Forms
Research Databases	Library Staff	Email: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours	University Archives	Phone: 267-341-3315