Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching from off campus

Welcome to Holy Family!

Welcome to our school community! We are always trying to make the library a better place for students so that they are successful on their path to graduation.

Your research will begin at the library web page

  • To locate articles using our Research Databases from home, you'll need your Canvas login, which is your Holy Family email address and password. 
  • If you need help with your password, please contact the HelpDesk
  • For information about Citing Sources, click here. 

Can't find the book you are looking for? Navigate here for information about Interlibrary Loan Requests.

For Books and DVDs - Curbside Pick Up Instructions

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services are OPEN! For the Holy Family community! 
 
Full-text access to articles depends on Holy Family's paid subscriptions.  You can use the ILL service and we can get articles for you if:
  • You are unable to locate full-text articles on your own, through one of our databases, or by using the Journal Locator
  • If there are no PDF / HTML links available in your search results
  • You receive an error message when trying to link to full-text
  • You are asked for payment before you can see an article. Never pay for an article!

We can also get books and DVDs for you!

You have these options:

1) When searching in one of the Library's EBSCOhost databases, you may notice an Interlibrary Loan icon/link.  Click that link to connect to a request form.  Citation information will auto-fill.  Fill in your personal info.  Please use your HFU email and ID number (for Library Card #), and submit.  You do not have to input your complete address, just specify "HFU".

2) When searching the library catalog, you may notice a "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan" link. Click that to connect to a request form. Fill out your contact information. Please use your HFU email.

3) Don't see an ILL icon/link? Use the ILL form found here.:  http://tinyurl.com/gtcwfq9 .  Please provide all the citation information for the article as well as your contact information.
 
To learn more about our ILL service and policies check here.:  https://www.holyfamily.edu/images/current-students/Library/Information_On_Interlibrary_Loan.pdf
 
* COVID-19 Update - Regarding the impact on Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services - we depend on other lending libraries to fulfill ILL requests. This means that while Library Services staff here at HFU are maintaining ILL services, the fulfillment of requests for journal articles, books, and DVDs may be delayed depending on the availability of staff at other institutions. Articles will be emailed to you within a few days of receipt.
Once a book or DVD is received, you will be notified and we will make arrangements for in-library or curbside pick-up. 
 
Questions? Reach us at reference@holyfamily.edu

FAQs

Library Home Information Literacy
Library Catalog Library Forms
Research Databases Services & Staff E-Mail: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours University Archives Tel: 267-341-3315