LibGuides: Education: Home

About the Education Guide

The Holy Family University Library provides a wealth of materials related to educational topics. All HFU resources are available to you online and off-campus. This guide will direct you to background information, books, journals, and more.

Find background information in eBooks, books, and trusted websites.
Learn how to evaluate the information you find on the web.
Search for journal articles and learn what makes an article "peer-reviewed."

First time researcher? Check out the Research at the Library Guide for general research guidance to help you get started and other related topics. Remember, the HFU librarians are always here to help! Email us at reference@holyfamily.edu, use the "Chat with a Librarian" widget on the right, schedule a one-on-one research consultation, or walk-in during library hours!

Using children's literature? Check out our Children's Literature guide!

Ethics for Teachers

Check out the Educator Ethics and Conduct Toolkit! This online resource for pre-service teachers presents information and case studies about ethical challenges facing teachers today. Topics include: ethical teachers/colleagues; private and professional lives; student relationships; improper personal or financial gain, and more.

Educator Ethics and Conduct Toolkit

Standards

Common Core Standards
"The Common Core State Standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so teachers and parents know what they need to do to help them. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills that our young people need for success in college and careers. With American students fully prepared for the future, our communities will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy."
Customize Pennsylvania Standards by Grade or Content
Download the Common Core Standards
Use this link to locate and print the standards themselves.
New Jersey Student Learning Standards
If you are teaching in New Jersey, view and print the curriculum standards here.
Pennsylvania Core Standards
Pennsylvania State Standards
Start here to download and print the standards.

Subject Specific Standards

International Society for Technology in Education
National Content Standards in Economics
Voluntary standards from the Council on Economic Education.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
This site provides selected information. Copies of the complete standards are available in the Library and the Newtown LRC. Check the online catalog for the title Principles and Standards for School Mathematics.
National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies
While the complete standards are not available online, click on the "selected resources" links for helpful information. The printed copy of the NCSS standards are available in both Holy Family libraries.
National Science Education Standards
View and download the standards from the National Science Teachers Association.
National Standards for Civics and Government
Downloadable standards from the Center of Civic Education.
National Standards for History Basic Education
These standards were developed by National Center for History in the Schools at the University of California, Los Angeles for the National Council for History Standards.
Standards for the English Language Arts
Download the standards created jointly by the National Council of Teachers of English and the International Reading Association.

Lesson Planning

Holy Family University - Lesson Plan Formats
The School of Education's Field Placement website includes templates for lesson and unit plans. Scroll down the "Student Teaching Page" to "Student Teaching Handbook Forms" "For the Student" information to view links to various templates.

Selected websites for reliable lesson plan information.

Education World - Lesson Plans
These teacher-submitted lesson plans are grouped by subject.
PA - Standards Aligned System Materials and Resources
Search for lessons and more.
ReadWriteThink
Developed by the International Reading Association and the National Council for the Teachers of English, this site includes classroom resources and lessons, searchable by grade level.

Library Home	Information Literacy	Library Forms
Research Databases	Library Staff	Email: reference@holyfamily.edu
Library Hours	University Archives	Phone: 267-341-3315