It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If, as Socrates is alleged to have claimed while on trial for corrupting the youth of Athens, the unexamined life is not worth living, the study of the humanities is a path of discovery with the potential of adding layers of meaning, understanding, and significance to human existence. The Holy Family University Library provides a wealth of print and on-line resources to support research in the humanities.
This guide directs users to resources that provide generalized introductions to the study of the humanities, as well as primary historical and literary documents, sociological, philosophical, and theological treatises, biographies, art and art historical works, and the peer-reviewed and scholarly critical literature that informs the culture of inquiry and debate essential to the humanities.
If you're here because this is your first foray into scholarly research, begin with a review of our "Doing Library Research" guide, or just jump right in and explore our databases. Additionally, the HFU Library is fully staffed with librarians who are always happy to work with you. Get in touch!
Our databases include abstracts (summaries) and selected full text of articles. If the full-text article is not available in one database, it may be available in another. Search the Journal Locator by journal name to see which database includes the full text.