Humanities

Our research databases are the place to go for journals, magazines, and newspaper articles. Here are the steps:

1. Go to the Research Databases page

2. Choose a database. If you are not sure where to start, try Academic Search

3. When prompted, enter your Holy Family Canvas credentials (your HF email address and password)

4. Enter search terms and use the search limits if necessary.

5. If an article is not in full text, we can obtain a copy for you via interlibrary loan. You can use the interlibrary loan link in the databases or fill out the form here.                              

Articles are a great place to find detailed analysis of a narrow, specific topic, and can contain the most up-to-date academic thinking. Academic articles include extensive bibliographies that situate you within the scholarly discussion of your topic, and can be mined for further resources!

You'll be relieved to know that you don't have to read every word of every article you find! Rather, use the diagram below to detrmine how thoroughly you need to read an article.

credit: http://www.williamcronon.net

Humanities databases provided by the HFU Library:

If you are accessing HFU Library databases from off-campus, you will need to first log in using the same credentials you use to log into your Canvas account.

Peer review refers to the process that journal articles must go through in order to be published in a scholarly journal. Before an article is published, it must be reviewed and critiqued by a panel of other researchers in that field. This process ensures that the highest standards of research are upheld. These articles are known as peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.

For more information about peer review, and to see a sample journal, click the Peer Review tab.

Search for journal articles in Google Scholar. If a publisher charges for an article, no need to pay a high fee! Check our Publication Finder to see if the article is available in our Research Databases. If it is not, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.